30 Rock Season 1, Episode 14

5:15 pm Oct 7th 09

The “C” Word

Why does Jack have a painting of his boss!? haha

Why is Frank in the credits!! He’s not that big of a character, at least I didn’t think so.

Ha! Liz threw a phone at the cleaning ladies head by accident.

“If you’re worried about disgracing NBC, you’re too late.”- Pete

This story line is weird…Lutz is mad at Liz? I don’t know how well it’s going to go.

“I’m delightful.”- Tracy

Cunt was the C-word! I knew I wouldn’t be able to guess it.

I had a feeling Tracy was going to ask why there are no black people there.

Jack wanted Tracy to be the funny black man. – social commentary

“This is what I do, I drop truth bombs.”- Tracy Jordan

I bet you Tracy made up that story about his daughter.

I knew it! He doesn’t even have a daughter.

“I’m not just feminine. I also can project my power.” -Liz

This episode turned out to be funnier than I thought.  Liz’s whole issue turned into a question of what women are capable of, and in her case she had to step up and be a boss.  Tracy’s whole thing with being the only black guy was great but I felt like the conclusion was weak.  He just decided to say hey, that’s the way it is and then try and milk the system for all he could get, like when he lied about having a daughter with diabetes.  I thought that was out of character for him.  Maybe I just wanted it to end differently.  So I’m going to rate this episode a 4 since it turned out to be good but I expected it to be pretty bad.  Once again, Tina Fey’s social commentaries are what make the show great.

One Response to “30 Rock Season 1, Episode 14”

  1. Lee Says:

    I like how you pick out points of social commentary, (“Jack wanted Tracy to be the funny black man”). It would be nice to see you elaborate. Exactly what are writers trying to say about race and society? You also do a really good job analyzing Tracy, as a character, in this episode, (“He just decided to say hey, that’s the way it is and then try and milk the system for all he could get, like when he lied about having a daughter with diabetes. I thought that was out of character for him”). Nice work! You get a B+ for this section.

Leave a comment